How to receive a miracle from Heaven


John 3:27 says “A man can receive nothing unless it has been given to him from heaven.” Receiving is therefore a miracle in itself.  From the pages of the bible, here are 5 things a man must do if he wants to receive from heaven.

1. Do you have the right attitude? In 2 Kings 5:1-12 Naaman the army general with leprosy came to Prophet Elisha for help. Elisha says to Naaman “Go wash yourself seven times in the Jordan and your flesh will be restored and you will be cleansed.” To this, Naaman replies “I thought he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the Lord his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy.  Are not the rivers of Damascus better than any of the waters in Israel?” Naaman needs healing but he wants to dictate to the Lord’s prophet the terms and conditions of his own healing. Naaman has the wrong attitude to receiving from above.  When you come to God for help, don’t tell him how to help you.

Prayers
* Father Lord help me to pursue glory instead of glamour in Jesus name
*My wrong attitude that is pushing mercy, grace and help away from me receive divine correction in Jesus name

2. Is your mind ready for a miracle? The story of the man at the pool of Bethesda in John 5:1-7 shows how a man’s state of mind can block his miracle. Here, the great physician is standing beside a man who needs healing. The great physician asks him a question “do you want to get well?” the man who needs healing replies “I have no one to help me into the pool when the water is stirred. While I am trying to get in, someone else goes down ahead of me.” The great physician is offering him on the spot healing but the man who needs healing is waiting for his healing to come through another means. In his mind he believes his healing will come when he is able to jump into the pool after it has been stirred by the angel and until that time comes, he believes he can not be healed. His mind is set to two beliefs which are; I will be healed when the angel stirs the water, I will be healed when I am able to jump in.

  • Are you like the man at the pool of Bethesda? Your miracle is here but you block it yourself with your negative mind-set?
  • Are you like the man at the pool of Bethesda? Instead of receiving your miracle you block it by coming up with an explanation for your situation?
  • Are you like the man at the pool of Bethesda? Jesus is right beside you but you can’t recognise his presence because you have resigned yourself to fate?

Prayers
* My mind, receive soundness by fire in Jesus name
* The thoughts of my mind begin to work for me and not against me in Jesus name
* Every problem that has made me to lose hope expire in Jesus name

3. Are you too proud to beg? Matthew 15: 21-27 talks about the faith of the Canaanite woman. From her encounter with Jesus, we learn that our presentation goes a long way in helping us to receive from heaven. When she says to Jesus in verse 27 “That’s true, Lord, but even dogs are allowed to eat the scraps that fall beneath their masters’ table” what she means is; for you to deliver my daughter of demon possession, I am ready to descend to the lowest level. The Canaanite woman came to beg Jesus for a miracle she was unqualified for. She came to plead with Jesus to give her a miracle she did not deserve.

  • Like the Canaanite woman, are you ready to confront Jesus with meekness and humility?
  • Like the Canaanite woman, are you ready to descend to the lowest level?
  • Like the Canaanite woman, are you ready to receive the Lord’s mercy through the burial of pride, arrogance and self-importance?

Prayers
* The spirit of God break me and remould me in Jesus name
*The power to walk perfectly before God fall upon me in Jesus name
*Holy Spirit empty me of pride in Jesus name

4. Ask and you shall receive: Blind Bartimeaus in Luke 18:35-41 drives home the importance of asking if we are to receive miracles. From the story, blind Bartimeaus had heard all his life. He heard the crowd passing but he never saw the crowd passing. When he asked the passers-by what was happening on a particular day, they told him Jesus of Nazareth was passing by. All his life he had heard but now he was desperate to see.  When Jesus asked him “What do you want me to do for you?” Blind Bartimeaus immediately replied “I want to see.” He laid his cards on the table. He did not ask amiss, he hit the nail on the head and didn’t play games with Jesus. The bible promise of ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find, knock and the door shall be opened needs to be applied when we need a miracle.

  • Just like Blind Bartimeaus, are you ready to expose your situation to Jesus?
  • Just like blind Bartimeaus, are you ready to accept that you have a problem?
  • Just like blind Bartimeaus, are you ready to be sincere with yourself?

Prayers
* Lord Jesus come my way and restore me to wholeness
* The healing power of God open my eyes and let me see
*Mercy of God make a way for me in Jesus name

5. What sacrifice have you made? The ability to perform acts of sacrifice and bring quality repentance to God is necessary to receive from above. The woman with the alabaster jar of perfume whose story can be found in Matthew 18: 15-30 shows us how a sinful woman approached a holy Jesus for a miracle. The miracle she was after is the Lord’s forgiveness of her many sins so with tears in her eyes, she wipes the feet of Jesus. Afterwards, she breaks open a very expensive jar of perfume, pours it on the feet of Jesus and wipes his feet with her hair. Despite the fact that she is a sinner, her heart cries out for cleanliness as she brings quality repentance to God. When you need a miracle, it is important to bring  sincere repentance from the heart.

  • Like the woman with the alabaster jar of perfume, have you ever given up a prized possession?
  • Like the woman with the alabaster jar of perfume, what act of repentance have you ever performed?
  • Like the woman with the alabaster jar of perfume, are you really ready to change?

Prayers
*The God of holiness strip me of my filthy garments in Jesus name
*The God of purity purify my life in Jesus name

The bible reminds us that God does not afflict. He is a good father who wants his children to be blessed and receive from above. His thoughts towards us are of good and not evil to bring us to an expected end. Miracles still happen, but they go where they are expected so this Easter season, plug into his resurrection power and be expectant.

5 thoughts on “How to receive a miracle from Heaven

  1. This message bless me today and. Every time I read your messages the and this prophecy YOU SHAL NOT B BARREN, hv got a baby bt long ago I pray for more babies so pls pray along wt me and I will love to read ur messages n to hv them wt me pls can u kindly send ur messages into my e mail box pls. Thanks and God bless you

Leave a Reply

