40 Encouraging Bible Verses for Job Seekers


How do you trust God when you’re facing unemployment? Here is a list of encouraging Bible verses for job seekers. Focus on God during this difficult time.

I hope you find courage and hope as you search for new employment. Spend time in prayer and rely on God’s Word. Trust in the Lord because He is faithful and will provide for all your needs.

Psalm 31:24
Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the Lord.

Philippians 4:4-7
Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Joshua 1:9
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight

Psalm 46:10
“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Isaiah 40:30-31
Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Psalm 119:114
You are my refuge and my shield; I have put my hope in your word.

Romans 12:12
Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Psalm 42:11
Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

John 14:27
Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Psalm 23:1-6
The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

2 Corinthians 4:16
Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

John 14:1-4
“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Matthew 5:4
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Psalm 9:9
The Lord is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble.

1 Corinthians 15:55-57
“Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?” The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

Revelation 21:4
He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

1 Peter 5:6-7
Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Matthew 11:28-30
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

James 5:10-11
Brothers, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.

Psalm 31:9
Be merciful to me, O LORD, for I am in distress; my eyes grow weak with sorrow, my soul and my body with grief.

Psalm 35:14
I went about mourning as though for my friend or brother. I bowed my head in grief as though weeping for my mother.

Isaiah 53:3
He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering. Like one from whom men hide their faces he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Matthew 16:21
From that time on Jesus began to explain to his disciples that he must go to Jerusalem and suffer many things at the hands of the elders, chief priests and teachers of the law, and that he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life.

Psalm 18:2
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Romans 8:18
I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.

Psalm 73:26
My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

2 Corinthians 1:5-7
For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows. If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings we suffer. And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.

Psalm 88:13
But I cry to you for help, O LORD; in the morning my prayer comes before you

1 Corinthians 15:21-22
For since death came through a man, the resurrection of the dead comes also through a man. For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive.

Psalm 10:14
But you, O God, do see trouble and grief; you consider it to take it in hand. The victim commits himself to you; you are the helper of the fatherless.

Isaiah 55:6
Seek the LORD while he may be found; call on him while he is near.

Psalm 22:24
For he has not despised or disdained the suffering of the afflicted one; he has not hidden his face from him but has listened to his cry for help.

1 Timothy 6:17
Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.

Romans 5:3
Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance;

Psalm 119:50
My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise preserves my life.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Psalm 20:4
May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.

With the God of possibility, have faith that your hearts desire for a profitable job shall be granted.

Post by John Sachem. A youth Pastor and a member of the Yahoo contributor network.

46 thoughts on “40 Encouraging Bible Verses for Job Seekers

  1. Pingback: Job Verses | New Job Today

  2. Pingback: Bible Verses For A New Job | New Job Today

  3. thank you so much for the scriptures. I got married and moved to a new state. it all happened within two weeks, so I wasn’t able to really check out the job market. It has been 3 weeks and I’m still not working. I we’ll qualified and that has been my focus, but after reading the scriptures.ive had to put things back into perspective and that is putting God first in my life and trust him to give me favor with the resumes I’ve submitted and trust him whole heartily and allow God to open the door to the perfect job for me…I will continue to pray Blessing for you.

  4. I am working very part time I have been laid off 2 times in a period of 5 years companies were dismantling departments I was a part of I am now fighting unemployment because I went and got a part time job well that job is no longer offering me hours so I went out and got hired again part time. Unemployment is looking into this and has told me I will not recd another payment for 4 to 6 weeks in the meantime I do not make enough to cover my bills that long so I am in a pickle iam applying for full time positions but have not been picked yet. Please pray for me that The Lord will guide my path, control my unemployment outcome whatever that may be and show me how to depend on his strength courage and trust to get through this very unstable time. Thank you for listening In Christ, a faithful sister. PS: do not get yourself in debt if you can avoid it once I am out I will never go back praise God Thank you for the scriptures they truly and will continue to give me strength.

  5. I am a graduate for d many years, I have apply for several job but they all prove abortive . pls pray for me cause am now seen it as a battle.

  6. I have been out of work for 15 months, losing my house as well as everything else. No family or friends to lean on, prayer is all I have… Educated and able but still no job! Do not know why God does not answer my prayers. I am still of strong faith…

    • I’m sorry to hear that, but be encouraged that God is light and in him is no darkness.,I have been out of work for 3 years to date. This blog was set up during the years of unemployment. So be assured that adversity sometimes opens a door to other things. Keep praying for direction and new doors. God Bless You.

    • he here’s you just keep the faith and never ever stop praying, have ever tried
      beening a mystery shopper my bff and I have been doing it for over 2 year’s she has no job and this is all she dose yes it is real. here is a couple of ones to start
      monterey
      bestmark
      marketforce it will keep money flowing. may god continue to bless u.

  7. Its encouraging to read words of wisdom and comfort. I really believe I’ll find a sucure job to take care of my daughter as I am a single parent.

  8. My son has overcome illness and is now blessed with health. He has been searching fo a job for 6 months. We are supporting him while he searches. I pray the Lord have mercy on him that he may find work that will enable him to use the abilities he has been blessed with.

  9. Please pray for Me that God gives me a job, I have been unemployed since November last year and am officially depressed now…

  10. I’m also trusting God for a job despite the obstacles I’m facing. I thank God for this blog. It’s really helpful.

  11. I was laid off almost two months ago. Actively seeking employment. God has continually provided for me and my family. Please pray that the Lord will bless me with the right job for me. Staying prayerful!

  12. Please assist me by prayer.My job is ending anytime because of the restructuring exercise.l also pray that the Lord opens the doars and i get a new post within the town l live with my kids.l also put my trust in him and believe that God will make a way for me.my family is poor and lm also looking after my mum who is now a widow.l believe showers of blssings are on the way because my Lord is always there for me and also l now cast my fears into him.

  13. Because I do not agree with where my husband worships,and go somewhere where women are encouraged to exercise their gifts not just on a certain day but when Holy Spirit moves and pastor says.or asks,hethinksIshould Be over there in all that mess,plus I am 3 wks with out work,heis nota very encouraging husband,hes very bitter and angry with me,hedoesntcarebut I need prayer, I am thinking about leaving for my sanity, peace,alloverwellbeing

Leave a comment